Last season, this race was fourth on the schedule, as Johnny Sauter passed Kyle Busch with less than two laps remaining to win his third career Truck Series title.

Busch was attempting to win at Martinsville for the first time, but Sauter chased down Busch just after the final restart with four laps to go, and then made the winning pass right before the white flag was displayed for the final lap in the 250-lap race.

Back in 2010, Kevin Harvick put on a dominating performance as he raced to victory over Ron Hornaday Jr. Harvick led 187 of 250 laps and easily held off Hornaday after the final restart with 19 laps remaining to win his fourth consecutive truck race he had entered. He won in his first start of the season in 2010 at Atlanta and ended the 2009 campaign with victories at Phoenix and Homestead. Harvick started first on the grid and became the third pole sitter to win the spring race. Harvick joined Dennis Setzer as the only drivers to win this race in back-to-back seasons.

In 2009, Harvick tapped Kyle Busch out of the way for the lead late in the race and then held off teammate Ron Hornaday Jr in a green-white-checkered finish to win the rain-delayed Kroger 250 in 2009. Harvick started sixth on the grid and took the lead for the only time with 11 laps remaining for his fourth career title. Busch, who dominated the race, leading for 139 laps, fell to 17th, while pole sitter Rick Crawford placed fifth after leading the first 78 laps.

Setzer won this race for the third time and recorded his 18th and last career Truck Series title, as he dominated the 2008 Kroger 250. Starting from the 10th position on the grid, Setzer took the lead on lap 128 and held on the rest of the way to defeat Matt Crafton under the caution. Pole sitter Jack Sprague led twice for 28 laps, but finished a distant 24th.