Last year, Kyle Busch equaled the great Richard Petty with his third win in a row at the Richmond spring race. This year, he’s shooting to join Jeff Gordon and Darrell Waltrip as the only drivers to win the same Sprint Cup race four straight seasons.
The Sprint Cup Series returns to the short track for the third and final time this spring, as NASCAR’s best battle it out at Richmond International Raceway.
Gordon accomplished the feat twice, at Bristol in the spring and Darlington, while Waltrip won four straight at Bristol, also in the spring.
In 2011, Busch tied The King with his third consecutive win at RIR, as he outlasted Denny Hamlin by 1.805 seconds. Petty had won three straight at Richmond from 1971-73.
Busch put on a dominating performance, leading 235 of the 400 laps, as he easily held off teammate Hamlin. The victory came just two days before his 26th birthday.
Busch is off to a relatively show start in 2012. After winning the unofficial Budweiser Shootout, Busch has just four top-10 finishes in eight starts and ranks 13th on the points list. He has failed to lead a lap in the month of April.